h1

Colonial beauties

December 25, 2009

Paço Imperial, Rio

Santo Antonio do Carmo church, Olinda, Pernambuco

Paraty, in Rio state
Paraty, in Rio state
Carmo church, Mariana, Minas Gerais

Macau, China
Macau, China

Panjim, Goa, India

The Portuguese colonial style is very consistent – you find its characteristics in houses and churches constructed between the 16th and the 18th centuries wherever Lisbon established its governors. Naturally, early colonial houses are very different from more recent ones. It is almost impossible to compare a baroque church of Ouro Preto (Minas Gerais) and a house in Paraty (Rio). In some cities you can see buildings built with hand painted tiles, soap stone and gold. Others adopted only modest materials. Yet, they have a few common characteristics, such as the doors and guillotine windows – generally framed and rounder on the top -, the contrast of white and bright colors, the iron balconies.These same features can be seen in other former Portuguese colonies, such as Goa, in India, and Macau, in China. By the way, Goa reminds me a lot of Salvador – beautiful coast of white sand, lined with coconuts; a few dishes vaguely similar; some wonderful baroque churches; and, of course, poverty. Not your average Indian poverty, but still.

4 comments

  1. Hello Regina,

    The pictures of Brazil appear normally, but the ones of India and China don’t appear in Explorer nor in Firefox.
    I’d love to see ’em though.

    Abraco virtual, Carlos ‘Nariz’.


  2. I am not sure what went wrong – I am using Explorer and I can see them fine. I will try to work on this tonight. And I will send these pictures to your email, Ok?


  3. Hi regina,
    Beautiful images, I can see the influence from Portugal. I just wanted to let you know that I can see all the images correctly but the text is wrapping behind the right menu column.


    • Yeah, I am sorry for that. All this blogging thing is new to me and I am having some technological troubles. I will try to solve that. Thanks for the comment and have a fantastic 2010.



Leave a Reply

